In town and cities, the large shopping mall should replace the small local shop. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, mega shopping centre has become more and more popular in high population density area. While some people agree that large shopping centres should supersede local corner shops, others argue that this should not be encouraged. This essay will discuss why policy makers should encourage the mall culture.

There are an increasing number of large shopping complexes in main cities. It is more convenient and less time consuming to shop in these shopping centres. They help customers save time and effort to travel from one place to another to buy different products. The centres bring many vendors under one roof. A vendor can either be a giant retailer which offers a variety of products or a showroom which displays all products of one or several brands. The vendor can also be local small businesses. As a result, the shopping centres should be favoured over local corner shops.

Some people believe that large shopping centres impose threats to small local shops and will destroy competition in local retailing market. However, these shopping centres create opportunities for mutual growth within businesses. For instance, when people go to a standalone cinema, they can buy snacks and watch the movie. However, if the cinema is housed in a shopping mall, people can see their friends, hang out for lunch or enjoy some other entertaining services then go to the cinema. The cinema not just brings customers to the other businesses but also attracts more customers to the cinema owing to the availability of different activities and services.

To conclude, both mega shopping centres and small local shops have their own advantage and disadvantage. In my opinion, mega shopping centres should be welcomed due to the convenience it offers to customers and how the centres support small businesses.