Whether experimental learning can work well in formal education, agree or disagree or experience is a more effective way to teach compared to books, agree or disagree?

Extensive research has been carried out to improve students learning outcomes. While some people prefer the traditional method of using textbooks in teaching, there are more and more people believe that experiential learning is a better teaching technique. This essay will discuss why experiential learning is a more effective teaching technique comparing to the traditional teaching strategy.

The impact of the experiential learning remains a controversy topic. Such learning technique helps students’ learn the basic concepts and develop other soft skills to solve problems. While involving in a group project, students enhance their ability to work as a team and communication skills. Furthermore, such project requires students to gather information, analyse them and derive a critical solution to the given problem. Such skills and abilities cannot be developed just by reading textbooks and going to lectures. Therefore, practical learning activities should be added to the course syllabus.

It is human nature that we remember things longer through practical experience. It is highly recommended that education institutions should adopt the experiential learning technique to improve students’ performance. A common mind trick to memorise multiple items is creating a story to link all objects into the story. Similarly, practical experience gives students a context in which knowledge consists of a series of relating information; and therefore, such learning technique enhance students’ long term memory.

To conclude, this essay argues that learning through practical experience can benefit students in several ways such as building their soft skills and improve their memory. In my opinion, learning through experience is a potential teaching technique in formal education.