Should voting be compulsory for all citizens or people should have freedom to choose not to vote. What is your opinion?

Recently, the topical issue of public rights has provoked a heated debate. Although contested by many, it is a widely held view that it should be a mandatory obligation for each person to vote as it leads to the large-scale democracy. This is a belief with which I strongly concur. Provided with further statistics, a cogent argument will be made before drawing a logical conclusion.

From the sociopolitical perspective, it is imperative that the public participate in the governmental affairs, which concern them directly. One means of doing so is by casting their votes or taking part in polling at regular intervals. There are, in general, a wider variety of issues in each country which primarily demand the general public’s viewpoints. As certain notable examples, subjects affiliated with structures of community, policies of foreign affairs, and long-term economic objectives, not to mention educational or health-related agendas, can be cited.

In addition, with people’s increased involvement in politics will come greater democracy. This is due in part to the fact that all members of society tend to feel that they are contributing substantially towards their country’ prosperity. Not only a stronger sense of community but also the closer cooperation will equally be attained, while people take a leading role in decision-making process. The concrete evidence of such sentiments can come from an extensive survey conducted in Norway in 2016, which established the close correlation between the sense of community and people’s taking part in the social matters.

In conclusion, democracy seems bound up inextricably with the public presence in numerous political affairs and can partly be upheld as long as people show a genuine willingness to vote. Thus, it is my main contention that everyone ought to have a voice and the most desirable fashion would be by voting. However, with the benefit of hindsight, it seems that the more we research, the further we may discover.