Although many people think that the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life are entirely harmless, in fact, they actually prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

State your opinion and support it with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Recently, the topical issue of luxurious and comfortable lifestyle has provoked a heated debate. Although fiercely contested by many, there is a widely held view that the public growing tendency towards financial values can profitably be conducive to powerful and self-reliant people. this is a belief with which I take issue. Provided with further statistics, a cogent argument will be presented before reaching a logical conclusion.

From a socioeconomic standpoint, the alarming trend of financial accumulation may commonly breed strong greed. this is due in part to the fact that the more people earn, the more they feel inadequate, and the more they strive to hoard materials, which further enslave them. As certain notable examples of this Mammon, the avarice for luxurious automobiles, flamboyant clothes, and fancy parties or trips, amongst youths, can be cited.

In addition, with a growing trend towards financial abundance will come a large number of <font size="4">pleasure-seeking </font>individuals looking exclusively for comfort. Not only will people be disincentivized to make progress educationally, but also they will increasingly become indolent and self-centered persons, while being dismissive of others and values. The concrete evidence of the desire for wealth comes from an extensive survey conducted in Norway in 2016, which established a close correlation between the public affluent ways of living and the riches they chiefly gain.

In conclusion, the cult of materialism seems to be bound up inextricably with present-day lifestyles of society as a whole and can create antisocial habits as long as they are not properly modified. Thus, it is my main contention that current shift in values would on no account bring about self-sufficient as well as robust personalities. However, with the benefit of hindsight, it seems that the further we research, the more we discover.