Should voting be compulsory for all citizens or people should have freedom to choose not to vote. What is your opinion?

In a democracy people get the privilege to elect their desired leader and it can be possible if every citizen of that country uses its right to vote. Hence, a group of people is in favor of making it compulsory. However, other people opine that there should be freedom to choose whether they want to vote or not. My opinion coincides with the former notion. This essay will elaborate on the viewpoints and hence lead to a reasoned conclusion.

There is a myriad of the arguments in favor of my stance. The most preponderant one is that in present scenario people assume the day of voting as a holiday. As a result, rather than voting they spend that day on leisure activities, which increases the probability of selecting the wrong person. For example, a small difference of votes can defeat a deserving candidate that can have a devastating effect in the nation progress. Therefore, it should be mandatory for every citizen to cast their vote.

Another pivotal aspect for upholding this notion is that in many countries like Australia voting is compulsory and there is the rule of penalty for those who did not. Not only voting ratio in these countries is higher but also most desirable leaders are elected. In addition, the strictness of law makes people understand their responsibility and the importance of voting. Nevertheless, looking at the current situation implementation of compulsory voting is indispensable.

In view of the arguments outlined above, it can be concluded that in order to make upsurge in voting percentage voting should be made must for every individual of that country.