Should government build more roads to allow more vehicles owner or improve the network of public transport?

In last few decades the population around the world has increased dramatically. As a result, numbers of vehicles have also inclined. Some people opine that the government should construct more roads for the automobile owners, while others emphasis on improving the public transport. My opinion, however, coincides with the latter notion. This essay will elaborate on viewpoints and hence lead to a reasoned conclusion.

There is a myriad of arguments in favor of my stance. The most preponderant one is improving the network of public transport can help in relieving the problem of congestion on roads. As a result, people will prefer to travel by public transport than private cars or bikes. As an illustration many people avoid mass transit, because of fewer facilities available. Therefore, it is clear that regime should work on this field than building more roads.

Another pivotal aspect for upholding the statement is that improving the mass commutes like the buses and trains can cut pollution to colossal amount. Not only it will prove beneficial for our surrounding but also reduce the expenses of an individual. For example, a person using a vehicle has to spend lot of money on its maintenance, which can be saved by using a public transport. Hence, it is quite indispensible to upgrade the mass transportation means.

In view of arguments outlined above, it can be concluded that the public transport has abundant advantages which are too great to be ignored. Therefore, the government should take heed in improving it for the wellbeing of our society.