Technological access to online music and the like should be free or paid. What do you think

The music industry has seen a huge upsurge in the last few years due to technological advancement. There are several apps available on the internet from where we can get the music worldwide. Many people opine that access to online music should be made free, while others revoke that it will reduce its value. My opinion, however, coincides with the latter notion. This essay will elaborate on the viewpoints and hence lead to a reasoned conclusion.

There is a myriad of arguments in favor of my stance. The most preponderant one is that composers and singers work hard to produce a song or album. Making it free of cost will put a huge burden on them, as they will not be able to generate the revenue of their work. For example, producing music cost’s a huge sum of money that the composer gets back by selling it to the listeners. Thus, making it available free of cost online can affect the composer financially and also emotionally. Therefore, nevertheless to say it is clear that making online music free will only have a devastating effect on its producers.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that making anything free only reduces its importance as well as value. Not only it will become common very soon but also will lose the interest of the audience. For instance, there are many pirated copies of famous music on the internet which are easily accessible by people, hence they did not stay in the market for long. Also, easily approachable music creates the threat of copyright act. Therefore, it is quite apparent making music free will not generate any fruitful results in our society.

In view of the arguments outlined above, it can be concluded that setting a price for the online music will pay for the hard work of its creators and will also motivate them to compose more enjoyable music in the future.