These days, there is an ongoing debate among people about compulsory voting in some countries. Although many individuals consider compulsory voting as both positive and effective, there are a number of people who hold an opposite view. This essay will discuss why compulsory voting is necessary for a democratic society.

To begin with, there are multiple reasons why I support the idea of compulsory voting. First and foremost is that voting is our right and everyone's voice and choice should be taken into account before we elect a representative or leader. Secondly, democracy is centered around people's choices and it doesn't make any sense if everyone is not involved in the election process. Consequently, it is clear that compulsory voting is advantageous for a democratic society.

However, there is no doubt that compulsory voting has lots of challenges. Everyone may not be physically present in the state during the election day. Especially for those working far from their home town, it becomes really difficult. Of course, such situations are to be taken care of with good solutions like online voting or postal voting options. For instance, a recent study by a group of eminent scientists shows that most of the people who couldn't participate in the last election were mainly out of the station and they really wanted to participate. Hence, it is quite obvious that compulsory voting can make a difference if implemented by tackling all these challenges.

In conclusion, while there are several convincing arguments on both sides, my opinion depicts that voting should be made compulsory so that everyone's choice is taken into account, thus leading to a good democratic society.