Some people think placing advertisements in schools is a great resource for public schools that need additionally funding, but others think it exploits children by treating them as a captive audience for corporate sponsors.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

These days, there is an ongoing discussion among people on placing advertisements in public schools. Even though many individuals consider this as a great resource for public schools to bring in some additional funding, there are people who hold an opposite view. This essay will discuss why placing advertisements in public schools is a good option and how it can benefit the school and its children.

To begin with, there are multiple reasons why I support the idea of installing advertisements in public schools. First and foremost is that it resolves the problem associated with the lack of additional funds. Secondly, it provides awareness to the children about an educational product or service in the market. In addition, the advertisements should be thoroughly reviewed by a panel before getting displayed. For instance, advertisement of an encyclopedia or educational equipment is acceptable in the school whereas that of a restaurant or bar is not. Consequently, it is clear that advertisements in public schools can be beneficial if handled carefully.

However, there is no doubt that the children are treated as a captive audience for corporate sponsors in this case. It is the responsibility of the school that the advertisements shown should be of educational importance and beneficial to children. A recent study by some eminent researchers shows that schools with advertisements had better facilities compared to those without advertisements. Hence, it is quite obvious that advertisements in schools are advantageous.

In conclusion, while there are several convincing arguments on both sides my opinion depicts that advertisements in public schools that need additional funding is a good initiative and it has a lot of advantages and has to be dealt with care.