In some countries, birth rate is slowing and the problem of aging population becomes more acute, what’s your view?

Nowadays, due to modernization and medical advancements, the gap between the number of birth rates and the number of the ageing population has increased. In any country, it has become common to have people beyond 65 years of age, and that means fewer people are of productive age. The trend of having slow birth rate and ageing population has created more serious problems in many countries. I am inclined towards the view that for any country the trend of fewer birth rates and the more aged population has more negatives than positives. This essay will discuss the drawbacks that this ageing trend is doing to any country.

Firstly, an increase in the ageing population means an increase in the non-working workforce. As the government needs to pay a pension to the retired government employees, these people are more of a liability to any country. For example, as per the recent survey conducted by a government institution, it has been revealed that due to increase in a number of aged people, the government needs to spend 40 per cent more money on the retired employee than it needs to spend 20 years back. Therefore, for a country, aged people are more liability than an asset.

Secondly, there is a huge amount of money spent on the medical expenses of old people in comparison to young people. Moreover, old people need special care and proper hospitals and old age homes are required for them. For instance, the government needs to invest 60 per cent more money in maintaining the infrastructure that suits old people.

As per the discussions outlined above, although due to an increase in age-old people get to spend more time with their family, for the government, the ageing population is more liability than an asset.