In academic studies, grouping students according to academic abilities is good or not good? Give your opinions.

Nowadays, many educational institutes have transformed the way of teaching by grouping students based on their academic capabilities. Some people believe that it has negative effects on a student's mind as it makes them demotivated. On the other hand, some people believe that grouping students based on their capabilities helps teachers as well as students in many ways. I am inclined towards the view that grouping based on educational abilities has more positive effects. This essay will discuss both the views and lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, grouping students based on their educational capabilities help teachers in identifying the weak and strong areas of students. It will help teachers to plan their sessions as per the group which is going to receive it. Also, students get benefitted as it increases their motivation level. Students from bright groups feel and students from weak academic groups become more vocal in raising their concerns. For instance, as per the recent study published by a renowned University, it has been revealed that students performance has increased by 40 per cent after introducing a grouping strategy. Therefore, grouping based on educational capability should be encouraged in educational institutes.

On the other hand, sometimes grouping creates a disparity between bright and weak students. Bright students become overconfident and they often indulge in insulting weak students. Also, in a weak student's group, students get demotivated due to the absence of challenging problems.

In the view of discussions outlined above, although grouping can have some negative effects, if students are grouped and taught on the basis of their capabilities it will not only increase motivation in them, but it will also help teachers to be more focussed and plan their sessions accordingly.