In some countries, the birth rate is slowing, the problem of an aging population, what is the causes and effects of this issue? How to solve this problem?

There are some countries facing a fierce low birth rate and the aging population in the world. This essay will elaborate the reasons and impacts of this issue and provides possible solutions for it.

There are several reasons of low fertility rate. Firstly, the trend of women participant in the labor market and insufficient support for them both work and child-rearing. Secondly, the deterion in employment of young people which leads people dedicate their time to work for gaining more money. Thirdly, high financial burden of childcare and education. These three are the main reasons result the low birth rate and it is widespread in the world.

While the problem of demographic occurred, aging population also has negative impacts on workforce. Due the advanced health services, people have longer expectancy life, hence it also become a problem to them which is they have to save more money to support themselves after retirement otherwise they family have to take the responsibility to take care their parents and the financial burden also cause young couples away to have their kid.

Many governments start taking actions on these problems. Policies of reducing tax and offer subsidies for childcare are implementing in many countries to stimulate the birth rate. For instance, the Hungarian woman who have four babies or above deserve tax free and yearly subside for their kids until 18 years old. Government in Taiwan determine to extend the legal retirement age from 60 to 65 years old in 2010 which can ease the lack of workforce for a while. Immigration also can be a method for the problems resulted by aging population, the Australian government opens opportunity for other nationalities to immigrate there as a part of their workforce.

In conclusion, governments need to take actions on low birth rate and aging population, otherwise they may face lack of workforce and other unpredictable problems.