Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of differential education, i.e. splitting students into different classes according to their academic performance. (2)

There are different opinions whether or not to divide students into the elite or worst class according to their learning outcome. This essay will elaborate on both the merits and demerits.

It is common to see that mixing students with different levels of capacity and ability to absorb less is a challenge to teachers and students. Teachers need to provide more than one syllabus to different students, and some students may be left behind the average performance. Hence, streaming class enables teachers to stay in one teaching method which is easier to date the student’s learning progression and provide further assistance. Moreover, it also reduces the problem of overcrowded among the mixing class which the average time that teachers spend on each student can be longer if they are at the same level.

On the other hand, the disadvantage of the streaming class is impacting student’s social development. Life does not just tests, we are not making friends by the scores we had. Additionally, communicating, team working and other skills are as important as academic learning. Hence, having students with different levels of understanding in a class also allows peer mentorship among stronger and weaker ones. Therefore, students will lack of these social skills if they are living under a streaming class system. These reasons drive the Malaysia government prohibits schools using the streaming classes.

In conclusion, the advantage of streaming class is beneficial academic teaching and learning while the disadvantage of that will impact on more about their future life.