With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. Universities should only procure digital materials rather than constantly textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

Due to the advanced technology, e-book is a new option to access knowledge. Therefore, it is a common topic for people to think whether library should only purchase digital learning materials or textbooks. My personal opinion is buying more e-books.

There is no doubt that library had played an important role in campus. Many library holds thousand of academic resources which have proven. The printed textbooks need to go through many rigorous process before it published. Every textbook’s author needs to take their responsibility for their words and they have to pay the price if the information is fake. Therefore, the content of a printed textbook is reliable

On the other hand, digital books provide students and professors access knowledge more efficient and more eco-friendly. The Internet and computer allow them to receive the information remotely. For instance, many Taiwanese researchers access the library of the United States to acquire related published which refer to their studies. Besides, digital books is more friendly to the environment compared with the traditional printed books. More specifically, using digital books, we can save thousands trees.

In conclusion, textbooks have been proven with rigorous process while the advantage of digital books is more efficient and more eco-friendly. My personal opinion is universities should take responsibility for our planet and provide a easy way for professors and students to access knowledge.