Some people argue that young people should concentrate on study or work, some people think it is better to put energy in activities designed to broaden their experience, such as international travel and volunteering. Support with examples or cases.

Some people are arguing that teenagers should focus on their study or work while the others believe that they should take a gap year on traveling and volunteering to expand their life experience. Personally, I totally agree that the advantage of taking a drop year is outweigh the disadvantage and I will elaborate the reasons in the following paragraph.

Traveling abroad provides a chance for young people to meet a range of different people and knowing their cultures. while spending time in the outer of country, students can develop an understanding of other cultures better. For instance, I have been to the United States and Australia for a long stay, and I learned the lifestyle of Australians is healthier than that of the Americans. Additionally, there are some people that I met during that period became my lifelong friends. This is the thing that you cannot get from other resources.

Moreover, doing voluntary jobs also develop plenty of skills and identify the meaning of their life. Volunteering is a platform the meet people from all walks of life and doing the worthwhile thing together. They can learn skills from different careers of people to tackle challenges as well as to gain critical thinkings. Furthermore, it is a period of life that young people starting to identify themselves. While spending time with different people, they can refer to their experiences and get a clear picture of their expecting future.

To sum up, students can meet a number of different people so that they are able to know their cultures deeper. Also, volunteering help them to find out their future goal and learn plenty of skills which can apply in their life. So schools and parents should encourage their children to take a gap year for these advantages.