Some people argue that experience is the best teacher. Life experiences can teach more effectively than books or formal school education. How far do you agree with this idea? Support your opinion with reasons and/or your personal experience.

Recently, the idea of experiential leaning against the formal learning has caused an uproar in the education community. Some people agreed that learning through experience is the best teacher whereas others rejected this notion saying that formal education is best way to prepare a person for the life. This essay will discuss the positive sides of learning through experience and provides a conclusion.

To begin with, there are myriad reasons that stem to the fact that experience is the best teacher, but the most important one is the subjects including language, science and drama require students to learn from practical experiences. Although theories can be taught from books and exams, how to use the language, conduct an experiment and perform in front of audiences must be learn through practices. A recent survey on this issue discovered that those activities help majority of students better understand the theories and allow them to apply those skills learnt in daily life. Therefore, life experiences enhance knowledge from books or formal education.

Furthermore, this way of learning enables the students to experience the reality. The art of driving can be enjoyed only when we are behind the wheels and not when reading it in books. This is apparent why students has to opt to apply the lessons learned in their class room in their lives to face the reality.

In conclusion, this essay has discussed why it is important to learn through experience as few subjects demand practical knowledge to understand them and to face the reality of a job. In my opinion, class room teaching needs to intertwined with on field training so that students can reap the benefits of learning through experience.