Some people prefer to listen to music while studying, as music has a calming effect on the mind. Others prefer a pin drop silence in order to concentrate on the content they are studying and have an undivided attention while they do so.

Which option works better for you and why do you think the other option is not viable to ensure a successful study time?

Students adopt different methods to study. Some people claim that listening to music while studying is beneficial while others have completely opposite view. In my opinion, quiet ambience helps to focus on the subject and avoids diversion.

First, peaceful environment provides the better concentration. It helps to absorb the most of the content easily. A study carried out by Standford University shows that people studying in silent atmosphere can remember better than other people who are studying in environment in disturbance. This is one of the reason why learning in calm places is always a good idea.

Second, people easily gets distracted in musical environment. Though music helps to soothe one's mood that indirectly helps in memorization, people easily switch from their study materials to music lyrics. Since brain does not function properly when people try to work on two things simultaneously. The performance of brain will degrade resulting in low score during exam. Therefore, I believe music does not benefits one's study.

To conclude, looking into above paragraphs, it is obvious that to ensure one's success in study, studying in silence is the better option. Learning in quiet area allows brain to absorb more information easily and one can use the learned knowledge later when needed.