What is your opinion about top executives at companies getting their employees involved in the decision-making process?

The flat hierarchy interms of decision making in company is quite ubiquitous now-a-days. Instead of top-down decision making, employees are heard while making company decision. I think this is good practice for mainly two reason. The company gets different perspective during the process and letting employees take part in decision making helps comapny to gain their trust that will help to retain them for longer years .

First, the better decision can be made after looking into the matter in many different ways. Bringing in people from different teams inside company will give multiple insights on the problem. This will direct company bosses to make better decision. For example, my company took a poll about working environment experience and many people voted for adding air purifier as top priority. As the result of adding air purifier in office area, some of my colleagues allergies related dust got cured. Therefore, keeping employees in decision making loop will forward to company to make better decision.

Second, including employees in decision making tree provides employees helps company to retain people in long run. This will bring trust between employees and company. This is helpful interms of retaining employees in company for long time. Since onboarding people in company is one of the costly process, this kind of act performed by companies reduces the people leaving the companies. Therefore, I believe involving people of company in decision making will boost the relationship between company and employee by giving them proper recognition.

To conclude, inclusive decision making process helps the company to make better decision and also to retain people in company longer years.