The sight of high numbers of cars on road is not rare these days and number of car seems increasing day by day. Many people argue that one family should have only one car and alternate form of transportation should be promoted. In the essay, I will support aforementioned statements with examples.

Firstly, rising pollution level and deteriorating air quality is normal these days. Since the advent of car, people tend to prefer it as private vehicle because it provides mobility and convenience. But it has contributed to pollution and traffic congestion. Carbon footprint is on rise and reducing vehicles on road is the right step in the direction of controlling pollution. By restricting a family to one car, carbon emission can be controlled and it can also reduce the congestion on road which will save fuels. For example, to curb the pollution car owners were allowed to take their car out of certain days. Therefore, by implementing this rule not only environment will be protected, but strain on fossil fuels will be reduced.

Secondly, since car provides sense of security and easy mobility people tend to prefer cars. If people are given option of a good alternate mode of transportation which could provide them all facilities in less money, they will definitely opt for it. By encouraging cycle, health can also be improved. In developing countries like Singapore where public transport affordable and available encourages people not to use car.

In conclusion, in the essay I analyzed why it is the need of the hour to have only one car in one family and to encourage other mode of transportation. It is in the favor of society and pristine environment in which we all live in.