Over the past few decades, there has been a high degree of the ambivalence over this matter, whether the past history can help us better understand the present. Whereas some people disagree with this fact, I sanguinely agree. This essay will further discuss reasons to support this notion and then deduce a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are myriads of reasons to support this notion, but one of the most compelling reason is that the past study can tell us about our legacy. According to my own experience when I was a university student, I conducted an experiment which revealed that studying the past history can help us better understand our present. Thus, the beneficial ramification of understanding the past apparently can be seen.

On the contrary, skeptics conjecture that past facts cannot be trusted, hence studying them doesn't help. Although it seems ostensibly veridical, this is the one-sided story. As a tangible example, researchers from a reputed company proved that knowing the past helps in many ways. Hence, this is correct to presume a preconceived notion of opponents.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments from both the sides, I profoundly believe that the benefits of studying past history far outweigh its drawbacks. Not only do the advantage of studying the past prove its significance, but also pinpoints implications of not doing so.