Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present.

It is argued that history play a crucial role apprehending the present situation. While some individuals deny the importance of history in our life, I would argue that people who are well-equipped with history are likely to better comprehend what is going on around us.

On the one hand, some people think that looking back to the past have a faint function for various reasons. Firstly, History is a subject that is rarely used daily so it would be better to focus on science or technology which is more relevant to the future and today’s society. For example, when applying for a job, what most companies need is not historical dates or names, but science-related knowledge. Secondly, each historic event has different perspectives. For this reason, it makes learning history a waste of time because events can also be interpreted in a different way which makes what we learn in history less valuable.

On the other hand, I believe that it is worth having profound insights into history in order to understand the contemporary life. The first reason is knowing about the past of country will foster a sense of belonging in each citizen. For example, by studying how earlier generations fought and made sacrifices for the freedom of the country, Vietnamese youngsters will appreciate more the value of the way of life and liberty that they enjoy today. Furthermore, a study of history provides mankind with an overview of the inter-relationship of nations and how international historical events, such as the end of colonialism , have shaped contemporary society.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks to history role in our present life, it seems to me that human should have a knowledge of history in order to understand the world they currently live in.