Some people think placing advertisements in schools is a great resource for public schools that need additional funding but others think it exploits children by treating them as a captive audience for corporate sponsors. Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations and reading?

The role of placing adverts in school premises and corridors is controversial and has drawn attention from the public. While many academics claim that this helps to boost the funding for schools, but others argue that it has some serious consequences on children. In my view, schools should never promote such strategies to collect money. This essay will further elaborate on both sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, schools are a natural learning environment and by placing adverts or promoting brands, the whole purpose of the school gets diverted. Moreover, schools offer a platform to learn and train the younger ones, but using them as an intentional customer can distract them and lose focus on their studies. For instance, posting images of famous celebs or personalities promoting alcohol can resort to binge drinking habits in children which is unacceptable. Thus, schools should highly be involved in child development and plan to do things only in favour of them.

Nevertheless, there are some advantages that can overwhelm the potential impacts of advertising. The most conspicuous one is that there are often low or middle budget schools that lack funds or grants and by this, they will get support from concerned organizations. For example, small budget schools that educate poor children, investing money on adverts can bring a stream of revenue or attract governments grants. Hence, raising money from advertisements can become a resource to meet the study expenses of many impoverished children.

This essay discussed how placing advertisements in the schools is a source of revenue and damage to children’s future. In my opinion, the drawbacks of advertisements outweigh its benefits and therefore, schools should never promote such adverts that divert students from their path.