Some people think placing advertisements in schools is a great resource for public schools that need additional funding, but others think it exploits children by treating them as a captive audience for corporate sponsors.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Recently, the phenomenon of placing advertisements in schools and its profound impact has become a long-running dispute among the public. Although it is a widespread belief that advertising is highly beneficial, a fair number of academic researchers are trying to view this from a different angle. Nonetheless, I am inclined to believe that one should carefully weigh up the pros and cons of additional funding.

From a socio-economic standpoint, the traditional education system is inextricably bound up with new technologies, which means it might be a deciding factor in potential audiences, as well as violent contents. For example, a group of eminent scientists in a prestigious university undertook a longitudinal study to demonstrate the relationship between ads and child’s obesity. Not only were the preliminary findings somewhat inconsistent with those of previous studies, but also some convincing evidence presented thus far support the contention that eating fast food is correlated positively with being exposed to ads.

In educational terms, funding by sales of space for advertising is undoubtedly bound up with children behavior, in that it would lead to street crime, failing tests, and educational inequity. According to my first-hand experience, a vivid illustration of such attributions is educational quality, which has given us cause for concern since our modern society has overlooked in taking mass media for granted. Hence, the dominant role of treating children as captive audiences is commonly perceived.

To recapitulate, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I broadly agree that the disadvantages of advertising in schools are of more significance. However, the local authorities should amend the existing legislation to minimize undesirable side effects of funding for public schools.