Some universities deduct students’ marks if assignment is given late. What is your opinion and suggest alternative actions?

Universities have certain rules for the assignment processes. For instance, in some universities students’ marks are deducted if the assignment is submitted late. In this essay, we will discuss how it is associated with students’ responsibilities and try to find an alternative solution.

Firstly, we need to consider the structure of an assignment. An assignment is given to students in order to evaluate their knowledge and skills and some of these skills are organization and time management. Therefore we can conclude that an assignment not only measures one’s knowledge but also his/her ability to manage time. So, it is the duty of a student to complete an assignment before the deadline and it also affects his overall performance.

Furthermore, one should not forget that grading systems are strictly determined in the beginning of the semester and all students who take the course should comply with it. However, there can be some urgent situations like accidents, illness etc. In such situations professors can tolerate students and offer them some other options which are designed to enhance students’ engagement to the course. An alternative solution could be that when the assignment is submitted late, students could have another extra task for compensation. Therefore, they can still have the chance to keep their grades high.

Although it is the duty of a university student to submit an assignment on time, there can be other alternative ways to promote students’ performance and sense of responsibility.