'Students should be required to stay in school until the age of eighteen.' To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Support your point of view with reasons and /or examples from your own experience.

Boarding schools have increased all over the world in the recent years. This trend has emerged because majority of the people nowadays prefer to send their children to the boarding schools. This essay will discuss how staying away from the parents is not a good idea.

To begin with, the best care and supervision can be provided by parents only. Parents unconditionally love their children, therefore, they can go to any extent to look after their children in order to raise them better. For instance, in boarding schools the superintendents are only doing their jobs by supervising the children whereas for parents their children are their assets. Therefore, it is not beneficial for children to stay in school in their growing years.

Secondly, the attachment of children with their parents is badly affected when living in hostels. In the developing stage when a child spends more time in hostel where he is engaged in other activities, he lacks the emotional attachment with his parents. For example, one of my cousins who stayed in boarding school since a very young age failed to understand the issues of the family and help his parents in difficult time as compared to his other brothers who stayed with their parents. Thus, the relationship between a child and parent is affected by staying away.

In conclusion, children should stay at home while studying because parents can provide better supervision and at the same time develop a bonding with them which is essential. In my opinion, staying with parents is better for a child than growing up in a boarding school.