“Students should be required to stay at school until the age of eighteen.” To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Support your point of view with reasons and / or examples from your own experiences.

Schools are citadels of learning which provide and inculcate basic education into a student’s life. Some people think that schooling up to the age of eighteen is not mandatory while others maintain that children should undergo and complete their compulsory education at schools. This essay will discuss that why pupils should be imparted school knowledge compulsorily prior to their entrance into universities or practical life.

Firstly, there are myriad of arguments in favour of my stance. Schools act as a basic foundation and equip students with preliminary knowledge and education that is considered important in every walk of life. As an example, the learning environment and curriculum of schools is designed in such a manner that students are enlightened and taught about the basic knowledge and ethics. Therefore, the importance of schools and provisioning of compulsory education at schools cannot be overruled.

On the other hand, students who do not attend the complete school education lack in basic education as well as ethical values taught in schools. Not only they lack in educational and ethical spheres but also they are unable to overcome social barriers which are well managed in school life. For instance, the exposure of mingling and having friendships with students of different ethnicities can only be better done at schools rather than at any other place. Hence, schools play a pivotal role and school education should be made compulsory till the student’s maturity level.

To conclude, I opine that schools play an instrumental role in a young student’s life and therefore dropout rates should be discouraged and school education should be mandatory up to the age of eighteen.