A successful man is not the one who has the ability to eliminate problems before they occur, but the one who can face the difficulties as they arise and solve them.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this statement.

Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

The discussion on the measure of one's success by his abilities to face difficulties is a profound one. I completely agree with the statement and believe that the manner in which a person handles problems in life defines him.

Firstly, no one will disagree that prevention is better than cure, which means if one can ensure that problems do not originate in the first place, is definitely the most desirable thing. But everyone will agree that we do not live in a utopian world and there will be challenges and adverse situations in all walks of life.

Secondly, once one is aware that there is no end to the problems, he will be mentally prepared to face them and put in efforts to resolve them. An individual becomes much resilient and stronger, and he is able to successfully take on the challenges. Moreover, even if he is unsuccessful, the failure proves a blessing in disguise and bolster the mental strength, and engenders propitious results later on. For instance, Bill Gates, the successful entrepreneur and the ex-CEO of world's largest IT company, dropped out of college and faced numerous challenges and failures while developing products in the initial days, but each failure made him more determined and ultimately led to the success.

Lastly, in my opinion, the government of India is taking a great initiative by educating students in the universities on the benefits of positive thinking through didactic and edifying campaigns and curriculum.

To conclude, I firmly believe that a successful person is the one who has experienced failures and overcomes the adversities without being bogged down by them.