Successful sports stars and glamorous film stars are role models for youngsters. Do you support it or not?

The role of celebrities, be it in sports or in entertainment, as a role model for youngsters is widely debated, with many people claiming that these famous personalities have hardly any didactic purpose to serve. In my opinion, this notion merits serious consideration.

Following celebrities by youngsters is of myriad concerns. The most conspicuous one is that these famous personalities often show the brighter side of their lifestyle. Most of the inner aspects of their characteristics are hidden from the public. They are involved in a race against each other to gain name, fame and money. Attaining worldly desires seems to be their sole objective. No matter how positive their appearance might look, they are unhappy in their family life. They suffer from other mental complications like depression, frustration, loneliness and the like. Out of despair, many of them resort to drugs and some even commit suicide. There is no denying that with all these concerns, no one would recommend that a teenager should pursue an artificial life like this.

Another overt facet of celebrities is that rarely do they possess such essential attributes as moral and ethical values that are deemed vital to becoming a good human being. As such, they are often seen brawling over insignificant things, verbally assaulting their counterparts and what not. Thanks to the ubiquity of the Internet and the popularity of the social networking sites, youngsters who are both immature and vulnerable are readily exposed to these altercations. Apparently, the likelihood that these shallow, artificial and greedy people will benefit youths in shaping their beliefs and ideologies in a positive way is bleak indeed. Teenagers should rather imitate the lifestyle of their parents or teachers, who possess a deluge of qualities, from sincerity and honesty to perseverance and dedication. There is no doubt that youths can benefit from these practical role models astronomically.

From what has been discussed, one can conclude that the drawbacks associated with the youths imitating the lifestyle of celebrities far outweigh the upsides if any.