Television serves many different functions. It helps people relax, get information and also a companion for lonely.” Do you think this statement is true? Give your opinion and examples.

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is the colossal upsurge in the debate on Television serving many different functions are beneficial for people and the society. There is a widespread concern that some people believe Television benefits in myriad ways whereas proponents are against it. In my opinion, this apprehension is warranted and merits serious considerations.

There are many arguments in favour of my stance but the most preponderant one lies in the fact that nowadays people are taking lots of advantages from TV. In fact, not only do people enjoy watching the variety of programs and movies but also get lots of information watching news and documentary. One can kill his/ her loneliness by watching their favourite program. We can find overwhelming evidence in support of the fact there are both positive and negative aspects of TV. Needless to say, all these merits stand the importance of TV in good stead, as far as the benefits are considered.

On the other hand, one detrimental aspect of this argument is that there are some adult movies and programs broadcasted on TV which are not good for children. Besides, children try to mimic the character they watch and unknowingly get involved in criminal activities. For example, there are a number of researches by various governmental bodies that show that in Australia 60% of the children got involved in the robbery are inspired by the movie they watched before. Hence, it is apparent why many are against the TV programs broadcasted.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of Television services having different functions are indeed too great to ignore.