In today’s era, the television has great influence on the society and it is an integral part of every household. People start their day with the television and spend sufficient amount of time in front of it. It provides a wide range of programs from education to entertainment catering children, adults, women and old age people. In this essay, I will put my thoughts on television and its impacts on the society.

To begin with, the idiot box, aka television, has changed the way we live in today’s time-frame. Our habits and personalities are continuously changing after watching programs. Today, people adjust their daily routine as per the information telecast on the television. For example, in Melbourne, people adjust their travel plan after watching weather prediction on the television. Same way, in India most of the women adjust their daily household activities to watch their favourite daily programs.

Furthermore, despite above beneficial features, it has negative impacts as well. Some people suggest that crime rate is going up because of the crime related programs constantly telecast on the television. People spend more time in front of the television and wasting productive time and energy. It has been noticed that kids are spending more time in front of the TV watching cartoon channels than in the playground and it is resulting to the obesity and other health issues.

To conclude, according to the preceding discussion, the television has positive and negative impacts on the society and it is our responsibility to take only positive changes and discard the negative ones for the betterment of the society.