Drug intoxication is a serious threat worldwide. Its long term consequences not only damage the health of the drug addict but also massively affect the general public. Many people argue that government plays an important role to curb this menace while others hold an opponent’s view. In my opinion, government as well as individuals can collectively put efforts to fight this social issue.

Government can certainly enforce stringent laws to ban tobacco completely and impose heavy penalties on the violators. Another positive approach to mitigate the risk would be to reward the non-smokers with incentives. Many countries such as the U.S.A and Canada are ahead in the race as they have reward policy in place for non-tobacco users.

On the contrary, there is no skepticism that individuals are solely accountable for their personal verdict on smoking. Therefore, individuals must not engage in smoking habits even if the surroundings are not favorable. For example, many youngsters start smoking under the influence of their seniors or friend circle. To overcome this problem, parents and superiors should keep an eye on the companions of their kids for possible drug abuse and provide the crucial guidance.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that government and individuals should work in integrity to eradicate this evil from our society for the betterment of the mankind. I believe, social media and other electronic media have the potential to spread the awareness among general public and address the harmful effects of consuming tobacco.