Tobacco in general and Cigarettes in particular is one of the highly consumed drug in the World. It is estimated that more than a billion people of all age groups around the world smoke cigarettes daily and legally. The long term consequences of such infamous trend are high for an individual as well as for the society. It’s the high time that government and individuals work together to eradicate this evil from the planet.

To commence with, government as a legislator can improvise stringent laws to discourage the smoking practice. For example, heavy tax could be levied on the smokers which will aid in the revenue generation. In addition, kids below a certain age must be prohibited from buying tobacco products.

On the other hand, Individual willpower plays an important role in quitting smoking or even better not indulging in it at all. On a personal level, folks must consider the hazardous level of health damage caused by smoking such as lung cancer and respiratory problems which not only affect them but also their family members and friends.

To sum up, as the foregoing discussion propounds the view that individual effort along with government regulations can play a major role in curbing the smoking menace. I believe that with the increasing awareness level, mankind will certainly be able to control the smoking and other tobacco addictions in the coming years.