In recent decades, there has been considerable debate regarding the impact of social media on individuals and general public. Many people argue that such sites have negatively influenced society and I firmly concur with this opinion. I will further discuss my opinion in the following paragraphs.

The first noteworthy point is that social media provides platform to remotely interacting with our friends and families, hence alleviates the real world interactions, It could subsequently lead to broader psychological issues. For example, youth and teenagers get enclosed in a room for messaging their friends which promotes antisocial behavior.

Further, most people waste their precious time by engaging in exploring non-constructive social media sites such as Facebook. For instance, on an average, a person spends two hours daily on Facebook and other social media apps such as WhatsApp, Instagram which could otherwise be spent on other important activities such as exercises, reading, cooking etc. This sedentary lifestyle ultimately attacks the health and individual suffer from diseases such as High Blood pressure and diabetes.

To recapitulate, social media does more harm than good. It’s important to wisely choose between our health and social media. The middle path is to limit the use of social media sites and pay attention to our hobbies and overall well being.