Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long term health costs are high - for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.

Do governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to the individual?

It is widely an issue today that tobacco is one of the primary and wide-spread drug that people are using globally. More than a billion of the populace are legally smoking on a daily basis. There is a long period of effect in terms of health which is on high risk for the users themselves as well as the welfare of the surrounding community. I firmly believe that the government should have a legitimate role to legislate laws in protecting its citizens. These are due to preservation of life and the right to live in a healthy environment.

To begin with, each nation has to imbibe the quality of life to be enjoyed by its people. They should promulgate several rules and regulations regarding the use of tobacco to prolong the life of every individual and increase their chance to live normally, free from pollution and hazardous chemicals around them. To illustrate this, their are some countries who are after the banning of the use of cigarettes in public places. This would immediately improve the condition of those who are non-smokers. `

Furthermore, looking into general perspective, the government should let its people sustain their wonderful life living on earth. As these cigarettes is harmful to one's health, they could possibly have certain diseases like lung cancer which paralyzes their capability to work for their families and worse as death. Even though, addiction to such drug is also the problem, this must have to stop at some point in life.

In conclusion, the general public should insist on the changes regarding the laws and statutory protecting their lives most especially with the use of tobacco. Citizen need to call for action about this by maintaining a healthy lifestyle and following the ordinances approved by the administration.