Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used

drugs in the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day.

The long term health costs are high-for smokers themselves, and for the

wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.

Do governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from

the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, or are such decisions

up to the individual?

cigarettes are widely used among people around the world while they are harmful for health and society. In my view the governments should take some measures to harness the usage of this substance in the society so that the issues related to the individual and society health could be rectified.

Tobacco which is the main part of the cigarrete, has addictive effect on human body. After smoking a cigarrette an amount of nicotin enters the blood system and then the brain and affects it permanently; as the result after smoking for a short period the person will be addicted that could come with a huge cost for him in long term. Furthermore based on solid studies in univeridy of Tehran the cigarette is one of the main reasons of lung cancer among smokers.

Not only will the person who smokes be affected by tobacco, but also the people around him exposed to the cigarette and side products like smoke or smell will be adversely influenced. Therefore I agree as the token of care and responsibility toward the populations governments can set some rules to urge the smokers to quit smoking or reduce their impact on others.

To sum up, cigarettes are bad for health of the person who smokes as there are addictive and also the people who are next to smoker, therefore should be controlled.