In towns and cities, the large shopping malls should replace the small local shops. Do you agree or disagree?

Shopping malls have changed the way people shop these days. People prefer to have a one-stop-shop for their every need. Hence it is often thought to replace the small local shops with bigger malls. This essay will discuss the benefits of malls and shops and offer a stand-in favor of or against this viewpoint.

Shopping malls give a rich experience of shopping where one can shop for all things like clothes, shoes, electronic items, etc. under one roof. Malls also have kids playing areas and a food court where people can enjoy meals after shopping for long hours.

First of all, local shops offer direct or indirect employment to many people. If local shops are closed, the unemployment rate would increase steeply. Secondly, the things that we get in the local shops are way cheaper than the same things available in malls since malls have to pay higher rents and consumers have to bear some part of it in form of expensive items. Middle-class families and poor people cannot afford to pay extra price for the same items.

Shopping malls can offer a relaxing experience by providing all the things in one place, but no one can deny the importance of the local shops to keep the rates reasonable and affordable for middle-class and poor people. Hence, I conclude that bigger malls should not replace the local sho.