Travelling to study is over-rated. We have brilliant scholars who studied locally. Is travel really necessary for tertiary studies?

These days, there is an ongoing debate between people about if travel is necessary for tertiary education. While it is possible to claim that travelling to study is overrated while we have brilliant scholars who studied locally, my view is that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analyzing both sides of the argument.

There are several reasons why travelling to study is overrated. One of them is that travelling gives you an opportunity to meet new people away from your homestead which is a good investment to learn new languages other than your native language. It can also be argued that by travelling to study you get other services which you cannot get locally, for instance, provision of free language course. It should also be taken into account that one prefers to study abroad to learn new cultural aspects of other countries.

Those who argue for studying locally have a different view and say that it can actually be a good thing. Firstly, it is claimed that by studying locally you still achieve your desired results through research on the internet. Then, there are concerns about costs made from studying abroad such as higher fees for international students.

While there are arguments on both sides of the case, my opinion is that travelling to study should not be overrated in order to promote our locally based tertiary studies. I would strongly recommend that students should look closely the differences.