In underdeveloped countries, tourism has disadvantages and can be said the opposite as well. What is your opinion?

These days, there is an ongoing debate between people about tourism and underdeveloped countries. While it is possible to claim that tourism can harm a country’s environment, my view is that the advantages of tourism overweigh the disadvantages. In this essay, I will explain my point of view by analysing both sides of the argument.

First of all, there are several reasons why tourism is important for underdeveloped countries. One of them is that tourism industry provides major income in some countries such as Thailand and Cambodia. In addition, it can be argued that with the lack of income from tourism, some countries will stop development process. It should also be taken into account that income from tourism industry are so huge that some countries like Saudi Arabia and Singapore are now trying to invest on the development of tourist attractions.

Those who argued for the drawbacks of tourism, had a different idea and said that it will actually be a good thing. Firstly, it is claimed that environment and nature of the countries are destroyed because of the un-responsible travellers. Then, there are concerns about changing in behaviour of local people due to the influence of foreigners’ demands. For example, one of the biggest tourist attracted country, Thailand, is famous for prostitute business.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my opinion is that foreign visitors should be welcomed under rules and regulations. I would strongly recommend that governments should enforce suitable regulations for tourism industry in order to protect the nature environments.