Give examples from your experience. In under developed countries, tourism has disadvantages and can be said the opposite as well. What is your opinion?

One of the most contentious issues today relates to how tourism creates adverse effects to developed countries. In this essay, I will explore the advantages and disvantages of promoting tourism in developed countries before giving my opinion on the issue.

One of the most cited advantages of tourism is cultural promotion. The reason for this is that local residents often lack of financial support from the government, hence with the arrival of tourists, they will have a chance to improve their economy. In addition, tourism will also help local diversity to be exposed internationally via commercial. For example, Vietnam tourism has been grown exponentially after a new law which helped local to have better sales has been imposed from the government.

However, an commonly mentioned disadvantage of tourism is environmental sustainability. I often argue that in fact environment is far more crucial than economic benefit because residents will be consequently harmed by toxic from travel's boat and many other vehicles. Furthermore, the loss of privacy which disturbs the peacefullness of the local nature also contributes negatively to the adversary of tourism. For instance, a small town in NSW has experienced a huge loss of local properties because of the recent booming in tourism.

In conclusion, introducing tourism into developed country has been proven to be more harmed than good, though it is essential for the development of a nation. Despite the economic opportunity, tourism seems to damage the core value of a nation. In my opinion, the government should carefully scrutinise and impose more rules and law towards tourism industry in order to protect local community.