In underdeveloped countries, tourism has disadvantages and can be said the opposite as well. What is your opinion?

These days, there is a controversial debate between people about tourism and underdeveloped countries. While it is possible to claim that tourism can harm ecosystem of a country, my view is that the advantages overweigh the disadvantages. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analysing both sides of the argument.

First of all, there are several reasons why tourism can support countries’ economy. One of them is that tourism creates a huge foreign income which is vital for the development of economy. Thailand and Cambodia are very good examples of developing progress by using tourism. In addition, some countries such as Dubai and Singapore, are starting to invest on the development of tourists attractions.

On the other hand, those who argue for drawbacks of tourism have a different view and say that it can actually be a good thing. Firstly, it is claimed that environments can be severely damaged because of the un-responsible travellers. Then, there are concerns about changing behaviour of the local people due to the influence of foreigner’s demand. For instance, 30% of locals in Thailand becomes prostitutes to fulfil the market demand.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my view is that foreigners must be accepted for the sake of benefiting the country’s economy. I would strongly suggest that government should enforce the tourism industry with rules and regulations to protect the locals and nature sceneries.