In many developing countries, there is a problem with declining quality of air and water from both industry and construction. What measure could be taken to prevent this?

Due to the industrial development, the world’s environment is polluted in current centuries which leads many challenges to the society and ecosystem. Being noticed that specialists and scientists are finding solutions of each pollution related problems and governments and authorities are enforcing the new rules and regulations to limit the pollution. In this essay, two of the preventive laws, carbon emissions and waste water disposal,are explained.

Early this year, International Maritime Organisation (IMO) announced a rule, Carbon Cap, to reduce carbon emissions. According to the rule, it is not allowed to use the marine engines which generate carbon dioxide more than the specified limit. Despite of creating difficulties to ship owners and operators, it is a significant improvement to reduce air pollution since 65% of air pollution is from the shipping industry and it has always been a main ingredient of global warming problem.

Secondly, some of the government in developing countries such as Vietnam and Thailand, introduced a scheme to limit the toxic grade of waste water disposal. In this scheme, industrial waste water will need to be treated to reduce certain level of toxic before discharging into the environment. This is an important movement from the governments because the quality of water and marine species are threatened by industrial waste water disposal for decades. This will slow down the process of pollution and in long term, governments can even enforce zero disposal rules to protect the environment.

To conclude, sustainable earth is not necessary for the world itself but the survival of humans depends on how they can maintain a sustainable environment. For our next generations, we will need to eliminate the causes that destroy the sustainable ecosystem.