Undoubtedly, in these days, there is an ongoing debate among many students about deducting marks for their late assignments. While it is evident that many students work few jobs while studying to fund themselves; however some academics argue that students should face the consequences of doing things late. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analysing both positive and negative impacts of argument followed by a detailed conclusion.

At present, many students believe there are several reasons why they should not be penalized for late submissions. One of them is financial commitments both students and their families are undergoing. It is apparent that almost everyone in a family is working hard to ease their financial burden. Similarly, there are some unfortunate incidents such as injuries, accidents, family deaths, natural disasters occur accidently and those will eventually delay students assignment submissions. With regards to an academic journal published by the Harvard University, it is revealed research students perform better than coursework students.

Secondly, there are few academics who have different ideas say that students should adhere to strict code of conduct while they are studying at University and there are proper ways to extend deadlines of assignments if they have a compelling reason.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case; however, my opinion is that students should not be penalized for late assignment submissions. I would strongly suggest teachers to work closely with students to setup up peer groups to provide some extra help in their studies.