These days, there is an ongoing debate among parents about the behaviour of children. While is it possible to claim that parents are responsible for children’s behaviour; however, some parents believe the opposite. In this essay, I shall explain both sides of the argument followed by a rational conclusion.

There are many reasons why parents take responsibility for their children’s behaviour. One of them is that they played a major part in raising their children, but there are some instances where the children are raised by their grandparents. Besides, it should also need to take into account that upbringing a child cannot be done single-handedly. With respect to leading research conducted at Harvard University, it is revealed parents have more obligation on the upbringing of their children, but many parents believe responsibility should be divided equally.

Nevertheless, those who disagree with the argument, believe it is children’s duty to differentiate between right and wrong. According to an academic journal which focuses on parenting, it is shown that children need to be responsible for their own action after some point in their life. As per the research, neither students nor parents seem to have agreed with its discovery. Hence, it is advisable parents to engage actively in upbringing their children, or else it may contribute in increasing the crime rate and violence in future.

While there are strong arguments to support both sides of the case, but my opinion is that parents need to take full responsibility for the behaviour of their children. I would strongly suggest potential parents plan ahead because raising a child properly requires heaps of help and patience.