Urban sprawl is an increasing issue around the world. One way in which to solve this issue is to construct cities vertically rather than horizontally. Do you agree / disagree with this statement

The inundation of human populace has resulted in overcrowding of cities. Some people think that the best approach to address this issue is by constructing heighted flats and buildings, while others maintain that expansion of the city area is the best possible solution. This essay will discuss that why horizontal expansion is the best plausible option.

Firstly, horizontal expansion of city area seems to be the most appropriate method to accommodate exponentially growing population. To begin with, expanding and developing city area will flourish urbanization and also render more business opportunities at newly developed area. As an example, more business ventures will be introduced and will boost the national interest and economy of the country. As a result, it deems quite suitable to expand cities horizontally rather than vertical.

On the other hand, construction of skyscrapers and high buildings with numerous flats also comes out to be an alternate approach. However, proponents of this view are unaware of the fact the saturation of people would result in scarcity of basic necessities like schooling and hospitals. Nevertheless, this situation will emerge unemployment as a challenging issue as the limited growth of resources and offices would not suffice to meet the requirements of growing population. Hence, there seems no potential and positive aspects in growing and developing cities vertically.

To conclude, I opine that aforementioned facts provide plausible stance in favour of my arguments and there seems dire need to grow cities horizontally to address urbanization and lead towards generation of more employment slots.