Urban sprawl has been a myriad of concern in every places in the world. People think it is a good idea to tackle this problem by developing the city vertically than horizontally. This essay will discuss why develop the city vertically is in fact not a good idea.

Many metropolitan cities increased their building levels instead of spreading the population out to a wider location due to the fact that people think it is more convenient to focus the development in closer range. Clearly, squeezing thousands of people in one location causes overcrowding, which also causes the certain area to be more expensive than others. For example, food and housing in the city area are much more expensive than in the urban area. A city with overcrowded population is one of the main problem of urban sprawl.

Additionally, construct a city vertically can cause uneven development on other areas that are not involved. For example, products and services in a city with more population in it are better than urban area that is under develop. Therefore, by spreading the population horizontally, it help with the development of other area as well.

This essay discussed how construct cities vertically causes overcrowding and uneven development. In my opinion, urban sprawl by constructing the city vertically instead of horizontally is not a good idea.