The violence portrayed on T.V and in the movies leads to an increase in crime in our society. People who watch violent movies are more likely to become criminals. Do you agree or disagree?

TV is the primary source of shows such as movies for everyone to watch. People that watch movies with violent narratives such as brutal scenes and killings may emotionally feel repressed, but in general, this does not turn them into outlaws and felons. I disagree that violent films influence people to do criminal activities in society, and I will discuss that throughout this essay.

On the one hand, movies that have crime storyline gives a high entertainment to viewers. Hence, this invalidates the idea that these viewers will add up to the growing number of atrocities in public. Based on my personal experience, I have previously watched countless crime films, but I have never done any criminal act. Thus, the significant increase in crimes worldwide are due to the other factors such as drugs, and not because of violent movies exposed on TV.

On the other hand, violent movies can be unsafe for children and teenagers especially at ages 18 and below. There can be a detrimental effect on their young minds when watching films with shootings and murders. As a tangible example, scientific research undertaken by the experts shows that the kids that are under five years old are notably vulnerable to violence that they see on TV, and they may advocate this immoral act when they grow up. Hence, parental advisory is required, and parents should not expose their kids to explicit content and violence on TV.

To conclude, I profoundly believe that watching violent films on TV cannot contribute to the crimes in the community. Movies with violent scenes are just pure entertainment, and these do not make movie viewers criminals.