Voting is mandatory in most of the countries across the globe. What is your point of view on the same? Do you agree with the notion of obligatory voting? If it is compulsory in a democratic society, what conclusions can we draw about ‘Nature of democracy?

The notion of compulsory voting is quite a controversial one in a democratic context. In a democracy, citizens have the imperative right to choose their own representatives and exercising this responsibility becomes incremental. In this essay, let’s take a look at what a democracy essentially means as well as a few examples of compulsory voting and what are its pros and cons.

To begin with, democracy is termed as a governing system which provides a nation’s citizens the right to rule either directly or by selecting their own elective representatives. Taking an example, if there is no compulsory voting, and the turnup of voters comes around 40%, then the result of the election can be called as unfair because the other 60% voters might not agree with the party that won. In the US presidential elections of 2016, the voter turnout was estimated roughly around 58% as per the United States Election Project. When it comes to India, the 2014 Lok Sabha General Elections recorded 66.40% of turnout as per Press Information Bureau.

Countries like Belgium, Costa Rica, Turkey, Uruguay, and Australia have made voting compulsory with the major argument that if more percentage of a population participates in the elections, it makes the decisions ruled by democratically elected governments more legitimate. Those who still don’t cast their vote in these countries are then subjected to punishments like, barring them from working in the public sector, or from getting a loan or even a passport.

The concluding point of this discussion is that compulsory voting can play a significant role in helping the general public see the importance of their vote in a democratic society. It helps the notion of democracy serve its quintessential purpose, i.e. to give citizens the right to choose a representative of their own.