The means of communicating today has changed markedly over the last ten years. In your opinion, what are the positive and negative impacts of this change?

Communication is one of the field that witnessed great developments in the past century. It has connected relatives in different continents to the same living room or employers in the same meeting room. However, the change in communication trends has also resulted in creating a solitude lifestyle.

To begin with, connecting people across continents has made business and relationships easier than even before. It is one of the perks of a highly advanced communication. For example, a person in USA can communicate with a seller in China to order an electronic device, being in the comfort of his own desk. Hence, advancement in communication has undoubtedly made life much easier for everyone.

In contrast, since most of our communications are restricted to social media, people have drastically reduced their social interactions. Consequently, people have become more isolated. This has created many social and psychological issues like depression, anxiety and isolation. For example, person suffering from depression might end up committing suicide as he/she had no reachable confidant to communicate with at the right time, at the right place.

In conclusion, advancements in communication has brought people closer together simultaneously pulling them apart. It has also drifted people apart drowning them in isolation and depression. Hence, it is the utmost responsibility of the people use communication to their benefit and maintain healthy social relationships.