What are the Positive and negative effects of the information revolution though mass media?

One of the conspicuous trend of today’s contemporary era is Information distribution with the support of mass media. Mass media plays a vital role in bringing awareness to people. Although, there has been several claims that mass media brings positive changes, others disagree with this notion. This essay will discuss, how mass media can be used to educate and help people make informed decisions and why sometimes mass media can have negative effects.

Firstly, media constantly attract high number of people with their punch lines. This practice is effective when wellbeing of people living in society is concerned. For instance, utilising mass media to stop people from drinking and driving, government subsidy awareness, helpline numbers for domestic violence, etc. Mass media educate people about their rights and duties. Thus, mass media is a means of spreading consciousness.

Secondly, spreading information though mass communication channels can have adverse effects. large organisation target mass media for their own selfish benefits. For example, promoting tobacco products on mass media platforms can have detrimental effect on young minds. Additionally, fast food advertising can lead the nation towards unhealthy lifestyle. Hence, it can be said Information though mass media can jeopardise societies wellbeing.

To conclude, this essay discussed mass media plays a pivotal role in spreading awareness and can also influence people to chose wrong path. In my opinion, positive overweights negative, I highly support information exchange though mass media revolution.