The effect of xenophobia, which was always debatable has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of xenophobia has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on government and individuals in recent years. It can be said that, there has been a rapid increase in xenophobia in the western countries. This essay will elaborate the solutions that can be proposed by individuals and government and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous ways to deal with xenophobia, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that the influx of immigrants has resulted in sharing of resources and increased competition for job, which has caused anxiety and stress to the natives and filled them with animosity for non-natives. For instance, rising xenophobia will decrease the number of migrants depriving the economy of new talents, ideologies and innovations. Therefore, finding the appropriate solution is very crucial for this matter.

Approaches to deal with the setback originated by xenophobia are innumerable, but the most effective one is, government should acknowledge the responsibility to reintegrate foreigners and embark on a nation-wide awareness raising programmed to help people to understand the incorrectness of xenophobia and the need for social cohesion throughout the country. For instance, government should encourage greater understanding between people of different racial backgrounds, cultures and religions through the sharing of their experiences. Thus the problem of xenophobia can reduced significantly.

From what have been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of xenophobia is prominent. However, appropriate steps by individuals and government can considerable reduce it.